Origins

The current CTI funding areas were set up in response to the needs of the CTI’s target groups. They have been developed in an ongoing process on the basis of discussions, (external) inputs and the CTI’s own initiative.

The CTI’s origins go back to 1943, when the Federal Council set up the Commission to Promote Scientific Research (Kommission zur Förderung der wissenschaftlichen Forschung) in order to help prevent a possible recession by promoting applied research and development. In 1954, federal innovation promotion was established in the Federal Act on the Preparation of Crisis Management and Job Creation (Bundesgesetz über die Vorbereitung der Krisenbekämpfung und Arbeitsbeschaffung). Today’s title, “Commission for Technology and Innovation (CTI)” was introduced in 1996. At that time, the Commission’s legal status was that of an extra-parliamentary commission. However, because it did not have any decision-making powers, as a Federal Administration commission it had a solely advisory function.

When the Federal Constitution was revised in 2006, Article 64 expressly stated that the Confederation would promote innovation in addition to scientific research. This led to the Federal Council Dispatch of 5 December 2008 to amend the Federal Research Act. With the partial revision of this law, the CTI’s status was raised from advisory committee to an executive commission with decision-making powers [1]. Since then, the CTI has formed part of the decentralised Federal Administration, with the autonomy to make decisions in its field of activity and responsibility. However, as an extra-parliamentary commission, it is not an independent legal entity.

Experience has shown that the structures of the current organisation do not always meet the CTI’s innovation promotion requirements. When the executive commission was set up, the aim was to give the CTI more autonomy; now, however, the organisational challenges that this legal form involves are preventing the CTI from functioning as well as it might. For example, there is no clear distinction between strategic and operative tasks, nor are there any independent checks and balances. If the CTI is to fulfil its role of innovation promoter to the full and be well equipped for future challenges, it needs to have the status of an institution governed by public law.

The CTI is the federal agency responsible for innovation promotion. Its work is based on Article 64 (Research) of the Swiss Constitution. “The Confederation shall promote scientific research and innovation.” Since 1 January 2011 the CTI has operated as an independent federal commission with its own secretariat. It is affiliated to the Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research (EAER).

[1] The title of the law was also changed, to the Research and Innovation Promotion Act (RIPA). The RIPA came into effect on 1 January 2011.

Further information

Last modification 17.05.2016

Top of page

Contact

Communication

Commission for Technology and Innovation CTI Einsteinstrasse 2
3003 Bern

E-Mail

Print contact

https://www.kti.admin.ch/content/kti/en/home/ueber-uns/die-kti--entstehung--leitbild-und-ziele-.html

Entstehung

Die heutigen KTI-Förderbereiche sind das organisatorische Abbild der bisherigen Bedürfnisse der Zielgruppen der KTI. Sie sind in einem dauernden Anpassungsprozess entstanden, aufgrund von Diskussionen, (externen) Anregungen und Eigeninitiative der KTI.

Die Anfänge der KTI reichen zurück ins Jahr 1943, als der Bundesrat die Kommission zur Förderung der wissenschaftlichen Forschung (KWF) einsetzte. Damit wollte der Bundesrat eine damals drohende Rezession unter anderem durch die Förderung der anwendungsorientierten Forschung und Entwicklung bekämpfen. Im Jahr 1954 wurde die Innovationsförderung des Bundes im Bundesgesetz über die Vorbereitung der Krisenbekämpfung und Arbeitsbeschaffung verankert. Die heute geltende Bezeichnung „Kommission für Technologie und Innovation (KTI)“ wurde der Kommission im Jahr 1996 verliehen. Ihre Rechtsform entsprach einer ausserparlamentarischen Kommission. Da sie jedoch keine Entscheidungsbefugnisse hatte, war sie als Verwaltungskommission ausschliesslich beratend tätig.

Im Rahmen der Revision der Bundesverfassung im Jahr 2006 wurde die Innovationsförderung als Bundesaufgabe in Artikel 64 neben der Forschungsförderung neu explizit verankert. Die Umsetzung der verfassungsrechtlichen Konzeption folgte gestützt auf die Botschaft des Bundesrates zur Änderung des Forschungsgesetzes vom 5. Dezember 2008. Mit der Teilrevision des Forschungsgesetzes wurde die bisher beratend tätige KTI aufgewertet und in eine mit Entscheidungsbefugnis ausgestattete Behördenkommission umgewandelt.[1] Die KTI ist seither Teil der dezentralen Bundesverwaltung, die in ihrem Aufgaben- und Zuständigkeitsbereich weisungsungebunden entscheidet. Als ausserparlamentarische Kommission fehlt ihr jedoch eine eigene Rechtspersönlichkeit.

Die Praxis hat mittlerweile gezeigt, dass die Strukturen der aktuellen Organisationsform nicht mit allen Anforderungen an die KTI im Bereich der Innovationsförderung vereinbar sind. Währenddem bei der Errichtung der Behördenkommission das Bedürfnis nach mehr Autonomie der KTI im Zentrum stand, sind es nun die mit der Rechtsform als Behördenkommission zusammenhängenden organisatorischen Herausforderungen, welche die KTI an einer optimalen Funktionsweise hindern. So sind insbesondere eine klare Trennung zwischen strategischen und operativen Aufgaben sowie eine unabhängige Aufsicht nicht gewährleistet. Damit die KTI ihre Rolle für die Innovationsförderung optimal ausüben kann und für zukünftige Herausforderung gewappnet ist, soll sie in eine öffentlich-rechtliche Anstalt umgewandelt werden. 

Als Agentur des Bundes ist die KTI das Organ für Innovationsförderung. Ihre Arbeit fusst auf Artikel 64 (Forschung) der Bundesverfassung: «Der Bund fördert die wissenschaftliche Forschung und die Innovation.» Seit dem 1. Januar 2011 arbeitet die KTI als eigenständige Behördenkommission mit zugehöriger Geschäftsstelle. Sie ist dem Eidgenössischen Departement für Wirtschaft, Bildung und Forschung (WBF) zugeordnet.

[1] Bei dieser Gelegenheit wurde auch der Titel des Gesetzes in Forschungs- und Innovationsförderungsgesetz (FIFG) geändert. Das FIFG trat am 1. Januar 2011 in Kraft.

Weitere Informationen

Letzte Änderung 17.05.2016

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

KTI Geschäftsstelle

Kommunikation

E-Mail

Kontakt drucken

https://www.kti.admin.ch/content/kti/de/home/ueber-uns/die-kti--entstehung--leitbild-und-ziele-.html