Commission for Technology and Innovation CTI: Portrait and mandate

The CTI is the federal innovation promotion agency responsible for encouraging science-based innovation in Switzerland by providing financing, professional advice and networks.

The CTI operates on the principle of subsidiarity, supporting innovation projects which, due to lack of funding, would not otherwise be possible, or whose market potential could not be realised. It is active in cases where initiatives in the private sector can be supported by state measures. By helping to transfer research results into concrete marketable products, the CTI helps to improve the competitiveness of Swiss businesses, particularly SMEs, thereby contributing to a strong, innovative economy in Switzerland.

The CTI innovation chain
The CTI innovation chain

The CTI innovation chain

The three CTI funding areas are closely linked. The R&D project funding area promotes basic research, whilst Knowledge and Technology Transfer (KTT) and Start-up and Entrepreneurship concentrate on applied research. The CTI identifies obstacles to innovation and its instruments help to overcome barriers existing between public research institutions and the private sector.

R&D project funding

The CTI’s task is to help innovative products and services onto the market to the benefit of the Swiss economy, by encouraging higher education institutions and businesses to carry out joint research and development projects. Companies, especially SMEs, can thereby benefit from the infrastructure in the research institutions and bring their innovative products and services to market.

More on R&D project funding

Start-up & Entrepreneurship

The CTI is tasked with promoting entrepreneurship and supporting innovative business ideas. The CTI programmes and networks provide the skills and methods necessary to successfully turn a business idea into a new company. The instruments used include training courses for potential and active young entrepreneurs and coaching and support in searching for investors.

More on Start-up and Entrepreneurship

KTT Support

KTT stands for knowledge and technology transfer between businesses and research circles. This funding area brings together businesses, especially SMEs, and public research institutions in cases where contact has not otherwise been established. The aim is to create partnerships which will then act as drivers of innovation in Switzerland.

More on KTT support

Special task: Energy research

In order to achieve the Federal Council’s and parliament’s objective of gradually phasing out nuclear power by 2035, a stronger focus is being placed on energy research between 2013 and 2016. Research networks among universities, named the Swiss Competence Centres for Energy Research (SCCERs), have been set up to establish the potential for efficiency savings and the opportunities presented by renewables. The CTI is responsible for creating and funding the SCCERs, supported by the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF). The CTI is also funding extra R&D projects relating to energy.

More on energy research

Further Information

Job vacancies

The CTI is a streamlined organisation. About 30 employees work in the secretariat, managing applications, preparing the documentation on which the Board makes its decisions and carrying out other organisational tasks. Are you interested in working in the field of innovation? CTI job vacancies are published here.

Legal bases

Legal bases: One act, one ordinance and two regulations form the legal bases for the promotion of research and innovation in Switzerland.

Legal bases

Organisation

The CTI is an efficient and effective organisation. You can read about the Board, Commission, Secretariat, coaches and mentors here.

 

Last modification 03.02.2015

Top of page

Contact

Secretariat CTI

Commission for Technology and Innonvation CTI Einsteinstrasse 2
3003 Bern
Tel.
+41 58 462 21 29

E-Mail

Print contact

https://www.kti.admin.ch/content/kti/en/home/ueber-uns/auftrag.html

Kommission für Technologie und Innovation KTI: Porträt und Auftrag

Die KTI ist die Förderagentur für Innovation des Bundes. Sie ist zuständig für die Förderung wissenschaftsbasierter Innovationen in der Schweiz durch finanzielle Mittel, professionelle Beratung und Netzwerke.

Die KTI fördert nach dem Prinzip der Subsidiarität: Sie unterstützt Projekte dann, wenn Innovationen ohne Finanzierung nicht zu Stande kämen oder Marktpotenziale ungenutzt blieben. Sie ist dort aktiv, wo privatwirtschaftliche Initiativen durch staatliche Massnahmen verstärkt werden können. Mit der Umsetzung von Forschung in wirtschaftliche Werte trägt die KTI dazu bei, die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Schweizer Unternehmen, vor allem von KMU, zu verbessern. Für eine starke und innovative Schweizer Volkswirtschaft.

Innovationskette
Innovationskette

Die Innovationskette der KTI

Die drei Förderbereiche der KTI sind eng miteinander verzahnt. Der Bereich F&E-Förderung setzt bereits bei der Grundlagenforschung ein, die Wissens- und Technologietransfer (WTT) sowie Start-up und Unternehmertum setzen bei der anwendungsorientierten Forschung. Die KTI erkennt Innovationshemmnisse und baut mit ihren Instrumenten Hürden in der Zusammenarbeit zwischen der öffentlichen Forschung und der Wirtschaft ab.

Auftrag F&E-Projektförderung

Zum Nutzen der Schweizer Volkswirtschaft soll die KTI innovativen Produkten und Dienstleistungen zum Durchbruch verhelfen, indem sie Hochschulen und Unternehmen motiviert, gemeinsame Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekte durchzuführen. Unternehmen, vor allem KMU, profitieren so von der Infrastruktur der Forschungsinstitutionen und können ihre innovativen Produkte oder Dienstleistungen auf den Markt bringen.

Mehr zur F&E-Projektförderung

Auftrag Start-up und Unternehmertum

Die KTI soll gezielt das Unternehmertum fördern und innovative Business-Ideen unterstützen. Die Programme und Netzwerke der KTI vermitteln das notwendige Rüstzeug und die Methodik, um eine Geschäftsidee in einer neuen Firma erfolgreich umzusetzen. Zu den Instrumenten gehören Weiterbildung und Trainings für potenzielle und aktive Jungunternehmerinnen und Jungunternehmer sowie Coaching und Unterstützung bei der Suche nach Investoren.

Mehr zu Start-up und Unternehmertum

Auftrag WTT-Support

WTT steht für den Wissens- und Technologietransfer zwischen Wirtschaft und Forschung. Der Bereich soll die Wirtschaft, insbesondere die KMU, und öffentliche Forschungsinstitutionen zusammenbringen, wo dies ohne Unterstützung nicht geschieht. Ziel sind Kooperationen, welche als Innovationsmotoren für die Schweiz wirken.

Mehr zum WTT-Support

Sonderauftrag Energie-Innovation

Um den von Bundesrat und Parlament beschlossenen schrittweisen Ausstieg aus der Kernenergie bis 2035 umzusetzen, stärkt der Bundesrat in den Jahren 2013-2016 die Energieforschung. Interuniversitär vernetzte Forschungskompetenzzentren, die Swiss Competence Centers for Energy Research (SCCER), sollen Effizienzpotenziale und Möglichkeiten der erneuerbaren Energie erschliessen. Die KTI finanziert und steuert ihren Aufbau und wird darin durch den Schweizerischen Nationalfonds (SNF) unterstützt. Zusätzlich setzt sie auf einen Ausbau der F&E-Projektförderung im Energiebereich.

Mehr zum Sonderauftrag Energie-Innovation

Weitere Informationen

Offene Stellen

Die KTI ist schlank aufgestellt. Rund 30 Mitarbeitende arbeiten auf der Geschäftsstelle; diese führt die Dossiers, bereitet Entscheidungsgrundlagen für das Präsidium vor und erfüllt organisatorische Aufgaben. Interessieren Sie sich für eine Arbeit im Dienste der Innovation? Dann finden Sie hier die offenen Stellen bei der KTI.

Rechtliche Grundlagen

Ein Gesetz, eine Verordnung und zwei Reglemente bilden die Rechtsgrundlage für die Förderung von Forschung und Innovation in der Schweiz.

Rechtliche Grundlagen

Organisation der KTI

Die KTI ist effizient und effektiv in der Tradition des Schweizer Milizprinzips organisiert. Präsidium, Kommission, Geschäftsstelle sowie Coaches und Mentoren finden Sie unter Über uns/Organisation

 

Letzte Änderung 02.06.2015

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Geschäftsstelle KTI

Kommission für Technologie und Innovation KTI Einsteinstrasse 2
3003 Bern
Tel.
+41 58 462 21 29

E-Mail

Kontakt drucken

https://www.kti.admin.ch/content/kti/de/home/ueber-uns/auftrag.html